About me

JochenSimply put, I am an IT consultant. In a number of international projects I bring together companies, their people, and their interests in order to jointly work on complex technical tasks. I studied mathematics and philosophy – and depending on the project, I sometimes need more of the one, or the other. The wide variety of characters and cultures creates an environment that keeps me far from getting bored for more than 15 years now.

Away from work, I live with my wonderful family and an entire zoo of animals – some real, some virtual, and some cuddly – in the beautiful south of Hesse – somewhere between Odenwald, Bergrstraße, and the Rhine river… close enough to the big cities to have everything we need, and far enough away from them to have our peace.

VW Käfer
A Mexican in Norway

One of the things that have always fascinated me in my spare time is old technology. For almost 30 years now, I am volunteering at the Railway Museum Darmstadt-Kranichstein, guiding visitors through the exhibition or explaining how old mechanical switch boxes work. And then there is my trusted VW Beetle, who has crawled all over Europe with me over the past 20 years, from the Alps to the Arctic Circle.

I also like to read a lot; primarily American thrillers. My favourite authors include: Lee Child (Jack Reacher series), Michael Crichton (all of them), Jeffrey Deaver (Lincoln Rhyme series), John Sandford (Lucas Davenport series) – but then also everything by Terry Pratchett, or totally crazy books such as “One of Us” by Michael Marshall Smith.

PHOTOGRAPHY

My favoured types of photography of course follow what I do in my spare time. The railway museum is a grateful provider of motives. In particular the details of the old machinery, or capturing the mood “behind the scenes” at events, are things that appeal to me. I am no portrait photographer, but I love to “pick out” individual persons or small groups from a larger crowd, thus capturing the conversations and moments – ideally, without them feeling observed. Of course, none of these images are distributed without the subjects’ knowledge and consent.

When travelling, either job-related or on vacation, I like to capture landscapes and city motives. Or I go hunting for pictures in our garden – with the macro lens. I like the challenge of finding unusual perspectives; showing things in a way you don’t usually see them when walking by.

THE BLOG

In the summer of 2015, a number of reasons for me to take a deeper look at photography came together. So I thought: well, let’s have a look, there should be something on the internet… and indeed there was! The search engines and video portals of your choice easily render thousands of results on that topic. But I quickly realised: only a few of those are actually useful. In the beginning, it was quite cumbersome to separate the wheat from the chaff.

All aboard!With the first good photos I made came the questions from friends and coworkers: how did you do that? Where do you get your information from? Can you send me a few links?

I am not (yet) at a point where I can create my own tutorials. But I have read and watched many instructions, books, and videos – and by now, a good overview on which ones of those are good (for me), and which not. What I have learned from them. What I might do differently today. I am not (yet) an experienced photographer – but I am experienced beginner. In German, the word “einsteigen” means to enter or get into something – a new skill, for instance, or a train.

Hence: All aboard!

This web site uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies

Über mich

 

JochenIch bin, einfach gesagt, IT-Berater. In einer Reihe internationaler Projekte bringe ich Firmen, die Menschen dahinter, und ihre Interessen zueinander und bemühe mich um die Erklärung komplexer Zusammenhänge. Ich habe Mathematik und Philosophie studiert – je nach Projekt brauche ich mal mehr das eine, mal das andere. Durch die verschiedenen Charaktere und Kulturen ergibt sich ein Umfeld, in dem es mir seit nun über 15 Jahren nicht langweilig wird.

Privat lebe ich mit meiner wundervollen Familie und einem ganzen Zoo teils realer, teils virtueller und teils kuscheliger Tiere im schönen Südhessen, irgendwo zwischen Odenwald, Bergstraße und Rheinebene… nah genug an den Großstädten um alles zu haben was man braucht, und weit genug weg davon um seine Ruhe zu haben.

VW Käfer
Ein Mexikaner in Norwegen

Zu den Dingen, die mich in meiner Freizeit faszinieren, gehört seit jeher alte Technik. Seit rund 30 Jahren bin ich im Eisenbahmuseum Darmstadt-Kranichstein aktiv, führe dort Besucher durch die Sammlung oder erkläre alte mechanische Stellwerke. Und seit 20 Jahren ist nun ein VW Käfer mein treuer Begleiter, der mit mir in all den Jahren durch halb Europa gekrabbelt ist – von den Alpen bis zum Polarkreis.

Ferner lese ich sehr gerne, vor allem amerikanische Krimis. Zu meinen Lieblingsschriftstellern gehören: Lee Child (die Jack Reacher Serie), Michael Crichton (alles), Jeffrey Deaver (die Lincoln Rhyme Serie), John Sandford (die Lucas Davenport Serie) – aber zum Beispiel auch alles von Terry Pratchett, oder total abgefahrene Bücher wie „One of Us“ von Michael Marshall Smith.

FOTOGRAFIE

Meine fotografischen Vorlieben richten sich natürlich viel nach dem, womit ich meine Freizeit verbringe. Das Eisenbahnmuseum ist ein sehr dankbarer Lieferant für Motive. Gerade die Details der Technik, oder auch einfach die Stimmung am Rande von Veranstaltungen einzufangen, das reizt mich. Ich bin kein Portraitfotograf, aber ich liebe es, bei Events einzelne Menschen oder kleine Gruppen aus einer größeren Menge „herauszupicken“ und so Gespräche und Momente einzufangen – idealer Weise, ohne dass sie sich dabei beobachtet fühlen. Natürlich werden diese Bilder nicht ohne Wissen und Einverständnis der Beteiligten verbreitet.

Wenn ich unterwegs bin, egal ob beruflich oder privat, dann fange ich auch gerne Landschaften und Stadtmotive ein. Oder ich gehe im Garten auf Motivjagd – mit dem Makroobjektiv. Was mich dabei reizt ist die Suche nach außergewöhnlichen Blickwinkeln; Dinge so zu zeigen wie man sie nicht im Vorbeigehen sieht.

DAS BLOG

Im Sommer 2015 ergaben sich für mich gleich mehrere Gründe auf einmal, mich eingehender mit dem Thema Fotografie zu befassen. Also dachte ich mir: Da gibt’s doch bestimmt was im Internet… und natürlich findet man tausende von Treffern in den Suchmaschinen und Videoportalen seines Vertrauens. Nur habe ich auch schnell gemerkt: nur wenig davon ist wirklich brauchbar. Es war anfangs sehr mühsam, die Spreu vom Weizen zu trennen.

Bitte Einsteigen!

Mit den ersten guten Fotos kamen auch die Fragen von Freunden und Kollegen: wie machst Du das? Woher bekommst Du Deine Informationen? Kannst Du mir ein paar Links schicken?

Ich bin (noch) nicht soweit, eigene Tutorials zu erstellen. Aber ich habe mich durch viele Anleitungen, Bücher und Videos gearbeitet und mittlerweile einen ganz guten Überblick darüber, welche (für mich) gut sind, und welche nicht. Was ich daraus gelernt habe. Was ich heute vielleicht anders machen würde. Ich bin (noch) kein erfahrener Fotograf. Aber ich bin ein erfahrener Einsteiger.

Von daher: Bitte einsteigen!

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.