YouTube Recommendation: Christopher Frost

Christopher Frost Photography

When I started looking for additional lenses for my 760D, the YouTube channel by Christopher Frost was among the first I subscribed to. Chris is an enthused photographer living in Cardiff and currently training to be become a vicar. He characterizes himself as a “lens enthusiast” and continuously publishes detailed reviews.

I’ve come to appreciate these reviews a lot. Chris follows a thorough and consistent scheme, so that his reviews can be easily compared to each other. From time to time, he takes advantage of that himself and combines several reviews into a “battle” – for instance, ten different 50mm prime lenses, or eight ultra wide-angle ones. Hence, it not only becomes evident how one particular lens behaves under various settings or on different cameras, but you can also easily compare lenses to each other.

He assesses the following points:

  • Look & feel, build quality, and equipment
  • Image quality (sharpness, contrast, chromatic aberrations) – on a full-frame as well as an APS-C camera, as far as applicable, at different apertures, and (for zoom lenses) at different focal lengths.
  • Distortion and vignetting
  • Close-up image quality
  • Behavior against bright lights
  • Bokeh

When it comes to lenses, he tests about everything that can be mounted to a Canon DSLR; in particular off-brand ones. Thus, he created more than a 130 videos by now. Recently, he obtained a mirrorless camera, so that lenses made specifically for DSLMs are now being reviewed as well.

The videos are made in a very likeable way. In addition to the always-similar test images, they always contain some example images as well as personal experiences when using the lens. He’s enthusiastic about what he’s doing, but he doesn’t overdo it. The videos have a very convenient duration of five to ten minutes each. His British English can be easily understood. Based on his reviews, for instance, I have decided to go with the Tamrom SP 70-300mm ƒ4-5,6 Di VC as my telephoto zoom lens.

PLAYLIST RECOMMENDATIONS

In addition, Chris has some other playlists mostly focused on music, TV shows, and his engagement at Church.


CONCLUSION

Recommendation: If you’re looking for well-made, substantiated, and informative reviews on lenses for Canon cameras, then Chris’ YouTube channel comes highly recommended!

What I’ve learned: Due to the comparability of the reviews, I have learned how significantly different lenses can behave concerning sharpness and color-fringing at different aperture settings and focal lengths, and also how big the differences can be when using one and the same lens on full-frame body or an APS-C camera.


LINKS

Title image: YouTube Screenshot

Rented and tested: Sigma A 50-100mm f/1.8

Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 on the Canon 760D

One remaining gap in my equipment list is a high-quality tele-zoom lens – in particular one that can capture portraits with a nice blurry background (bokeh). I already have two prime lenses that can be used in this way: the “nifty fifty” Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 and the Tamron SP 90mm ƒ/2.8 Di VC Macro. But for situations like events, where people are moving around, I prefer the flexibility of a zoom lens.

Two types of lenses come into mind: first, the “classic” 70-200mm ƒ/2.8, which is available from Canon, Sigma and Tamron in various different styles. Second, the rather new Sigma 50-100mm ƒ/1.8, which is designed specifically for APS-C Cameras like my Rebel T6s. All these lenses have one thing in common: they are in a price range where you no longer buy one “on a hunch”. Of course there are numerous test reports and reviews online. But there is only one way to find out which glass fits my personal photography  style: try it out.

SO TEST THEREFORE, WHO JOIN FOREVER

Only a few of you will be so lucky to have a photographer friend who will happily lend such a lens for some time. Fortunately, there are now quite a number of suppliers who offer to rent photo equipment – not only lenses, but also cameras or entire flash and lighting equipment. I have used such a service twice now, and have had very good experiences doing so.

ZOOMYRENTALS

The company I use is ZoomyRentals.de. They are in Berlin, Germany, and offer a wide variety of camera, lenses and accessories by and for Canon, Sony, and Nikon. They ship only inside Germany of course, but wherever you are – search for “rent camera lens” online, and I am sure you will find a provider in your area. The steps described below will most likely be the same. Here is how it works:

  • You register
  • When ordering for the very first time, you have to upload a copy of your ID to your user profile for verification. Your name and address have to be clearly visible.
  • You select the desired equipment
  • You choose the starting date and the term of lease – this can be from 3 days to 4 weeks.
  • There you go!

I highly recommend signing up for the option insurance that is offered with each order. With expensive equipment, it is better to go safe than sorry.

SHIPPING

A DHL messenger does the delivery. You will receive your equipment on the morning of the first day of the lease, and a messenger will pick it up again on the morning of the last day. This is very reliable; delivery and pickup will be acknowledged with a signature, so you are on the safe side. Most of all, the package won’t accidentally end up on your porch or at a neighbor who might not be there when you need it.

Gut verpackt: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 fertig zum Versand
Carefully packed: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 ready for shipping

All lenses come with front and back caps, lens hood, protection filter, and a pouch. This all will be safely packed between thick layers of foamed material. The box also contains the delivery slip as well as the return-shipping label.

Now you’re ready to go: you can use the rented equipment whichever way you want as long as you have it. Careful handling of all items is a matter of course.

SIGMA A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8

In December 2016, I rented the “big brother” of my Sigma A 18-35mm ƒ/1.8 for one week. I had friends visiting me during that time, and I also attended a festivity, so there were many opportunities to test the lens.

LOOK & FEEL

The lens immediately draws attention: It is big. And it is heavy. Holding the camera leisurely with one hand quickly becomes an athletic challenge; certainly not a lens to carry with you at all times, but only for specific occasions. If you set this in relation to its price tag of around (Dec. 2016) 1,000 €, you’ll quickly realize that this investment had to be thought through thoroughly. There’s a reason for the weight, though: A focal length of 100mm and an aperture of 1.8, as well as the zoom, require a lot of glass. In addition, the lens is made from sturdy metal and manufactured to high standards.

I liked the handling of the zoom as well as the focus ring very much. All in all, the finish, which is similar to my 18-35mm, is very convincing. Also, I didn’t mind the tripod collar, which is criticized in many online reviews, when handling the lens.

Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8
Big, heavy, high quality: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8

CONFIGURATION & OPERATION DOMAIN

This lens serves but one purpose: the creation of professional-looking portraits with beautiful soft backgrounds with an APS-C camera. The constant aperture of ƒ/1.8 is its unique feature. The zoom range is rather limited – just 2x, compared to almost 3x on the classic 70-200. However, especially when taking pictures at an indoor event, I quite liked the zoom range. The extra 20mm at the shorter end definitely are an advantage in this case, and at the long end, you can make up for a lot of the missing focal length by cropping the image. Thanks to the fantastic sharpness this lens renders, this is no problem at all.

One point you will definitely notice is that this lens lacks image stabilization. In a room with lights dimmed for a festive mood, even using an aperture of ƒ/1.8 and ISO 800, I ended up with shutter speeds between 1/60 and 1/10 of a second. Even when seeking support on a table or armrest, this makes it difficult to avoid camera shake – especially at 100mm. I could have increased the ISO, but with my Rebel T6s I don’t like to go above 800 when I don’t absolutely have to. The resulting image noise at higher ISO settings becomes too intrusive in my mind.

Consequently, I will definitely also try one of the 70-200mm ƒ/2.8 lenses with image stabilization. Even though the shutter speed will become even slower due to the aperture being one and a third stops smaller, the risk for camera shake blurring the image will still become significantly smaller. I will see how this actually turns out in practice.

RELIABILITY & IMAGE QUALITY

The Sigma Art zoom lenses with an aperture of ƒ/1.8 – the 18-35mm as well as the 50-100mm – are famous for their rather ambiguous relationship to autofocus. It seems to depend on the individual lens whether the autofocus works reliably in phase detection mode (through the optical viewfinder) or not. The copy of the 50-100mm I had was exemplary: on every picture I took, the focus was on the spot. With my 18-35mm on the other hand, this is a matter of luck. On about one third of the images, the focus misses completely. Online test reports confirm the impression that this behavior depends on the particular lens; the conclusions for both lenses in this respect range from “hopeless” to “no problems at all”.

The back-up solution is to use the camera’s live view, because the contrast detection autofocus will always work – though slower (if you want to know why this is the case, watch this lecture). If you’re patient enough, you can also focus manually. When taking shots on a tripod, I prefer this option anyway.

The image quality is simply brilliant. Even when shooting wide open, the images are amazingly sharp throughout the frame, with just a touch of softness in the corners. And they have to be, because apertures below 2.8 are this lenses specialty. The blurred backgrounds are nice and soft; only occasionally the bokeh becomes busy when there are lots of little lights in the background. When you stop down, the lens produces beautiful stars around light sources. The images I made, indoors and outdoors, people and cityscapes, consistently enthused me. The image quality is definitely a very strong argument in favor of the Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8.

Sigma A 100-150mm ƒ/1.8 - Beispiel 1

Sigma A 100-150mm ƒ/1.8 - Example 2


CONCLUSION

Recommendation: The Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 occupies are small niche: making professional portraits with an APS-C camera. It occupies this niche very well, though. The outstanding image quality was what excited me the most. The look and feel match the high value. Working with it was definitely very enjoyable!

Given the appropriate occasion, I will definitely try one of the 70-200mm ƒ/2.8 lenses with image stabilization for comparison. Based on the experiences gained with both lenses, I will then make my decision. You will read about that here as well.

What I’ve learned: Renting a lens for a week is the perfect way to test it thoroughly and gain an impression whether it fits your imagination and expectations. I will certainly use this option in the future again.

And: it is a lot of fun working with a professional lens like this! The week of testing however also proved the lens’ limitations. As beautiful as the images are, the 50-100’s wide aperture isn’t everything. Before taking a decision, I definitely want to compare, hence renting the lens for a week was the absolute right thing to do.


LINKS

Picture Credits: All pictures – own images.

My Gear: The “Always-on” – Sigma C 17-70mm f/2.8-4

Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

After I had chosen my new camera, the next question obviously was which lenses to get for it. This time, I had deliberately bought the camera body without the kit lens that usually comes with it, the Canon EF-S 18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6. I wanted something with a bit more “punch”.

KIT LENS ALTERNATIVES

Canon themselves offer the Canon EF-S 17-55mm ƒ/2.8 as an upgrade to the kit lens. It lets in two thirds more light at the short end, and even four times as much light at the long end! The downside is, it costs around 750,- € (Nov. 2016). Fortunately, there are “off-brand” lenses available as well. This resulted in the following short-list:

  1. Sigma 17-50 mm ƒ/2.8
  2. Tamron 17-50mm ƒ/2.8
  3. Sigma 17-70 mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

The main similarities and differences can be quickly summarized:

  • No. 1 and 2 both have a 3x zoom, and a constant maximum aperture of ƒ/2.8. Both have a price tag of around 300,- € (Nov. 2016)
  • No. 3 has a 4x zoom, but a variable aperture with “only” ƒ/4.0 at the long end. It costs around 400,- € (Nov. 2016)

After studying numerous reviews, I dropped the Tamron from the list. The reviews consistently stressed that the Sigma lenses to have better image and build quality. So the remaining question was: what do I consider to be more important – longer focal distance or wider aperture? 17-70mm or constant ƒ/2.8?

In the end, I decided for the 17-70. I preferred the greater flexibility given by the extra 20mm.

SIGMA C 17-70mm ƒ/2,8-4,0 DC MACRO OS HSM

Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0
Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

The Sigma plays a major role in the fact that photography has become so much fun for me with the new camera. Not only because it lets in much more light, making it easier to take good pictures indoors or at night – image sharpness and colour rendering have enthused me as well. As a result, it has truly become the “always-on”. Its external values are also convincing. I consider the used materials and the build quality to be very good. It comes complete with lens cap and lens hood – something Canon likes to charge extra for. Though it adds to the kit lens in terms of size and weight, it handles very well together with the camera.

Regarding taking pictures: The autofocus works very reliable on my 760D, as does the image stabiliser. This makes for good hand-held images even in difficult lighting conditions. It is not a true macro lens  – but an image scale of 1:2.8 still allows for some impressive close-ups. And thanks to the wide aperture, pictures with nice out-of-focus backgrounds (bokeh) are feasible as well.

ARE THERE ANY DOWNSIDES?

Yes, based on my experience from the past year, there are a few points to consider. What I notice the most: the zoom is very easy-going. When carrying the camera with the lens pointing down, on a belt clip or shoulder strap, the lens extends to 70mm by itself, due to its own weight (including the lens hood). This can be a bit awkward, because it becomes more likely to hit something. Plus you’ll have to adjust the zoom most of the times when picking up the camera again.

When recording video, as long as you do not use an external microphone well away from the camera, quiet clicking and chattering from the image stabilisation and autofocus will be audible. I rarely record videos, so that doesn’t bother me too much.

The images themselves offer hardly any reason for critique. The light vignetting (darkening of corners) when shooting wide open can easily be fixed in post-processing with just a few mouse clicks. In Adobe Lightroom, for instance, simply choosing the correct lens profile already does the trick. Chromatic aberrations – green and purple fringing on contrasting edges – are negligible.


CONCLUSION

Recommendation: If you are looking at an upgrade from the kit lens, I can highly recommend the Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0! It is very versatile, reliable, and renders compelling results. Even more so when taking into account that the “original” from Canon costs twice as much – but in my mind, it’s not worth the extra money.

The sister lens, Sigma 17-50mm ƒ/2.8, is worth having a look at as well – especially when you’re taking videos on a regular basis, where a constant aperture is more important. Two of my friends have it, on a Canon 350D and a Nikon D7100 respectively, and they are happy with that choice as well.

What I’ve learned: The thorough research before getting the new lens was absolutely worthwhile. In particular: when you are looking for a new lens, have a look at the third-party manufacturers as well: Samyang, Sigma, Tamrom, Tokina etc. In terms of quality as well as value for money they offer some very interesting alternatives.


LINKS:

Picture Credits: All pictures – own images.


EXAMPLE IMAGES:

Fall Colors
Fall Colors
Portrait of a Snail
Portrait of a Snail
Frankfurt - Night Skyline (HDR)
Frankfurt – Night Skyline (HDR)
December Sunrise
December Sunrise
The Forge (HDR)
The Forge (HDR)
This web site uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies

YouTube-Empfehlung: Christopher Frost

Christopher Frost Photography

Als ich angefangen habe, mich nach weiteren Objektiven für meine 760D umzuschauen, war der YouTube-Kanal von Christopher Frost einer der ersten, die ich abonniert habe. Chris ist ein begeisterter Fotograf und angehender Vikar, der in Cardiff lebt. Er bezeichnet sich selbst als „Objektiv-Enthusiast“ und veröffentlicht laufend detaillierte Testberichte.

Genau diese Testberichte habe ich sehr zu schätzen gelernt. Chris geht dabei gewissenhaft und nach einem konsistenten Schema vor, so dass die Berichte auch untereinander vergleichbar sind. Gelegentlich nutzt er dies, um mehrere Videos zu einer „Battle“ zusammenzufassen – zum Beispiel zehn verschiedene 50mm Objektive oder acht Ultra-Weitwinkel. So sieht man nicht nur sehr gut, wie sich ein bestimmtes Objektiv unter verschiedenen Einstellungen oder an unterschiedlichen Kameras verhält, sondern kann die Objektive auch leicht untereinander vergleichen.

Die folgenden Punkte werden von ihm bewertet:

  • Anmutung, Qualität und Ausstattung
  • Bildqualität (Schärfe, Kontrast, chromatische Aberrationen) – und zwar an Vollformat als auch an APS-C soweit möglich sowie bei verschiedenen Blendenstufen und (bei Zoom-Objektiven) Brennweiten.
  • Verzerrung und Vignettierung
  • Bildqualität an der Naheinstellgrenze
  • Verhalten bei Gegenlicht
  • Bokeh

Dabei testet er an Objektiven so ziemlich alles, was auf eine Canon DSLR passt; insbesondere von Drittanbietern. Inzwischen sind so schon über 130 Videos entstanden. Zuletzt hat er sich auch eine spiegellose Kamera zugelegt, so dass er nun auch Objektive speziell für DSLM betrachtet.

Die Videos sind sehr angenehm gemacht und beinhalten neben den immer gleichen Testbildern auch stets einige Beispielbilder und persönliche Erfahrungsberichte. Er ist mit Begeisterung bei der Sache, jedoch ohne dabei zu übertreiben. Die Videos haben mit jeweils fünf bis zehn Minuten eine angenehme Länge. Sein Englisch ist sehr gut zu verstehen. Ich habe mich anhand seiner Tests zum Beispiel für mein Tele-Objektiv, das Tamrom SP 70-300mm ƒ4-5,6 Di VC, entschieden.

PLAYLIST-EMPFEHLUNGEN

  • Canon Objektive – Berichte zu Canons eigenen EF, EF-S und neuerdings auch EF-M Linsen.
  • Sigma Objektive – Objektive aus den aktuellen „Art“, „Contemporary“ und „Sports“ Reihen sowie ältere Modelle
  • Tamron Objektive – Gläser aus dem Hause Tamron
  • Berichte zu weiteren Objektiven – Tests zu Linsen von Irix, Mitakon, Tokina, Venus ‚Laowa‘, Yongnuo und Zeiss sowie einige eigenartige Exemplare

Darüber hinaus hat Chris noch weitere Playlisten, die sich um Musik, Fernsehserien oder sein Engagement in der Kirche drehen.


FAZIT

Empfehlung: Wer angenehm gestaltete, fundierte und informative Testberichte zu Objektiven für Canon-Kameras sucht, ist bei Chris an der richtigen Adresse – große Empfehlung!

Was ich gelernt habe: Gerade durch die Vergleichbarkeit der Tests untereinander habe ich verstanden, wie unterschiedlich sich Objektive hinsichtlich Schärfe und Farbsäumen bei verschiedenen Blenden und Brennweiten unterhalten und auch, wie groß die Unterschiede sein können, wenn man dasselbe Objektiv an einer Vollformat- oder APS-C Kamera nutzt.


LINKS

Titelbild: Screenshot von YouTube

Ausgeliehen und ausprobiert: Sigma A 50-100mm f/1.8

Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 an der Canon 760D

Eine verbleibende Lücke in meiner Ausrüstung ist ein hochwertiges Tele-Zoom-Objektiv – also insbesondere eines, das sich auch für Portraits mit schön unscharfem Hintergrund (Bokeh) eignet. Mit dem „nifty fifty“ Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 sowie dem Tamron SP 90mm ƒ/2.8 Di VC Macro habe ich zwar schon zwei geeignete Festbrennweiten, aber gerade für Situationen wie Veranstaltungen bei denen sich die Leute bewegen, möchte ich die Flexibilität eines Zooms haben.

Grundsätzlich kommen hier zwei Objektive infrage: zum einen der „Klassiker“, ein 70-200mm ƒ/2.8, das es von Canon, Sigma und Tamron in verschiedenen Ausführungen gibt. Oder das noch recht neue Sigma 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 speziell für APS-C Kameras wie meine 760D. Diese Gläser haben jedoch alle eines gemeinsam: Sie liegen in einer Preisklasse in der man nicht mehr „auf Verdacht“ kauft. Natürlich gibt es unzählige Testberichte, aber um herauszufinden welches Objektiv besser zu meiner Art zu fotografieren passt, bleibt nur eines: ausprobieren.

DRUM PRÜFE WER SICH EWIG BINDET

Die wenigsten von Euch werden das Glück haben einen Fotografen zu kennen, von dem man sich so ein Objektiv mal eben für eine Weile ausleihen kann. Dafür gibt es inzwischen eine ganze Reihe von Anbietern, bei denen man Foto-Ausrüstung mieten kann – nicht nur Objektive, auch Kameras oder ganze Blitz- und Beleuchtungsausrüstungen. Ich habe diesen Service inzwischen zwei Mal genutzt und sehr gute Erfahrungen damit gemacht.

ZOOMYRENTALS

Der Anbieter, den ich nutze, heißt ZoomyRentals.de. Die Firma sitzt in Berlin und bietet eine große Auswahl an Kameras, Objektiven und Zubehör von bzw. für Canon, Sony und Nikon. Der Ausleihvorgang verläuft ganz einfach:

  • Ihr registriert Euch
  • Vor Eurer ersten Bestellung müsst Ihr einmalig eine Kopie Eures Personalausweises zur Verifizierung im Profil hinterlegen. Euer Name und Eure Anschrift müssen gut lesbar sein.
  • Ihr sucht Euch die gewünschte Ausrüstung aus
  • Ihr wählt den Starttermin und die Mietdauer – diese kann zwischen 3 Tagen und 4 Wochen betragen
  • Los geht’s!

Ich empfehle Euch unbedingt, bei jeder Bestellung die angebotene optionale Versicherung mit abzuschließen. Gerade bei teureren Sachen gilt die Devise „better safe than sorry“.

LIEFERUNG

Die Lieferung erfolgt durch einen DHL-Boten. Ihr erhaltet die Ausrüstung am Vormittag des ersten Miettags, und sie wird bei Mietende wiederum vormittags per Boten abgeholt. Das funktioniert sehr zuverlässig; Empfang und Abholung werden jeweils durch Unterschrift bestätigt. Somit seid Ihr auf der sicheren Seite. Vor allem landet das teure Objektiv nicht versehentlich beim Nachbarn oder auf der Terrasse.

Gut verpackt: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 fertig zum Versand
Gut verpackt: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 fertig zum Versand

Bei Objektiven gehören in der Regel je ein Deckel für Vorder- und Rückseite, Sonnenblende, Schutzfilter und eine Objektivtasche zum Lieferumfang. Das alles wird zum Versand sicher in dicken Schaumstoff verpackt. In dem Karton befindet sich dann neben dem Lieferschein auch direkt der Adressaufkleber für die Rücksendung.

Und dann kann es losgehen: Ihr könnt die gemietete Ausrüstung für die Leihdauer nach Lust und Laune ausprobieren. Sorgsamer Umgang mit den Sachen versteht sich von selbst.

SIGMA A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8

Ich habe mir im Dezember 2016 den „großen Bruder“ meines Sigma A 18-35mm ƒ/1.8 eine Woche lang ausgeliehen. In der Zeit hatte ich Besuch und es stand unter anderem eine Feier an, so dass sich ausreichend Gelegenheit zum Testen bot.

LOOK & FEEL

Das Objektiv fällt sofort auf: Es ist groß. Und es ist schwer. Die Kamera locker mit einer Hand herumzutragen wird da schnell zu einer sportlichen Herausforderung; sicherlich kein Objektiv das man immer dabei hat, sondern nur gezielt mitnimmt. Setzt man das in Relation zum Preis von aktuell (Dez. 2016) rund 1.000 Euro wird schnell klar, dass diese Investition wohl überlegt sein will. Das Gewicht hat aber auch seinen Grund: Bei 100mm Brennweite und Blende ƒ/1.8, dazu noch mit dem Zoom, kommt eine Menge Glas zusammen. Zudem ist das Objektiv aus Metall gefertigt und sehr hochwertig verarbeitet.

Sowohl den Zoom als auch den Fokusring habe ich von der Bedienung her als sehr angenehm empfunden. Insgesamt hat mich die Verarbeitung, die ich ja auch schon vom 18-35er her kenne, wieder absolut überzeugt. Die in Reviews im Internet oft kritisierte Objektivschelle hat mich in der Handhabung kaum gestört.

Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8
Groß, schwer, hochwertig: Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8

AUSSTATTUNG & EINSATZGEBIET

Dieses Objektiv dient eigentlich genau einem Zweck: nämlich auch mit einer APS-C Kamera professionelle Portraitaufnahmen mit butterweichem Hintergrund machen zu können. Die durchgehende Offenblende von ƒ/1.8 ist das Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Der Zoombereich ist mit 50-100mm recht begrenzt – gerade mal ein 2x Zoom, verglichen mit rund 3x bei einem 70-200er. Insbesondere beim Fotografieren auf der Feier habe ich diesen Bereich jedoch als genau richtig empfunden. Die kürzere Anfangsbrennweite ist in geschlossenen Räumen auf jeden Fall von Vorteil, und am langen Ende kann man, dank der enormen Bildschärfe, durch Zuschneiden des Bildes noch einiges herausholen.

Was sich auf jeden Fall bemerkbar macht ist das Fehlen eines Bildstabilisators. Im stimmungsvoll beleuchteten Raum war ich mit der Belichtungszeit auch bei Blende ƒ/1.8 und ISO 800 meistens in einem Bereich zwischen 1/60 und 1/10 Sekunde. Da wird es selbst mit Aufstützen auf Tisch oder Stuhllehne schwer, die Bilder nicht zu verwackeln – insbesondere bei 100mm. Höher als 800 gehe ich bei der 760D mit dem ISO-Wert nur in Ausnahmefällen, weil das Bildrauschen ab ISO 1600 für meinen Geschmack zu auffällig wird.

Ich werde daher auf jeden Fall auch noch ein 70-200mm ƒ/2.8 mit Bildstabilisator testen. Durch die im Vergleich zum Sigma um gut eine Stufe kleinere Blende wird die Verschlusszeit zwar länger. Dafür sinkt jedoch unter dem Strich das Risiko ein Bild zu verwackeln deutlich. Wie sich das insgesamt in der Praxis auswirkt, werde ich dann sehen.

ZUVERLÄSSIGKEIT & BILDQUALITÄT

Bei den Sigma Art Objektiven mit Blende 1.8 – sowohl beim 18-35er als auch beim 50-100er – ist das mit dem Autofokus so eine Sache. Scheinbar hängt es vom einzelnen Objektiv ab, wie zuverlässig der Autofokus im Phasendetektionsmodus (durch den optischen Sucher) arbeitet. Das gemietete 50-100er zeigte sich hier vorbildlich: Bei praktisch allen Bildern, die ich gemacht habe, saß der Fokus da, wo ich ihn haben wollte. Bei meinem eigenen 18-35er hingegen ist es Glückssache: Bei rund einem Drittel der Bilder greift der Autofokus komplett daneben. Testberichte im Internet bestätigen den Eindruck, dass dies vom konkreten Objektiv abhängt; die Urteile reichen in diesem Punkt bei beiden Objektiven von „hoffnungslos“ bis „problemlos“.

Als Ausweichlösung bietet sich an, den Live-View zu nutzen, denn der Autofokus per Kontrasterkennung funktioniert immer – ist aber langsamer (wer wissen will warum das so ist, kann sich diese Vorlesung anschauen). Und wer die nötige Geduld oder das Feingefühl hat, kann auch manuell fokussieren. Beim Fotografieren mit Stativ nutze ich diese Möglichkeit eigentlich immer.

Die Bildqualität ist dafür über jeden Zweifel erhaben. Bereits bei Offenblende ist die Bildschärfe bis in die Ecken atemberaubend. Das muss sie auch sein, denn in dem Blendenbereich unterhalb von 2.8 liegt ja gerade die Besonderheit des Objektivs. Die Zeichnung der unscharfen Hintergründe ist angenehm weich; nur gelegentlich wird das Bokeh unruhig wenn viele kleine Lichter im Hintergrund sind. Schließt man die Blende, wird man mit wunderschönen Lichtsternen belohnt. Mich haben die gemachten Bilder, drinnen wie draußen, Personen wie Landschaft, durchweg begeistert. Die Bildqualität ist auf jeden Fall ein ganz starkes Argument zugunsten des Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8.

Sigma A 100-150mm ƒ/1.8 - Beispiel 1

Sigma A 100-150mm ƒ/1.8 - Beispiel 3


FAZIT

Empfehlung: Das Sigma A 50-100mm ƒ/1.8 besetzt eine sehr kleine Nische, nämlich professionelle Portraits mit einer APS-C Kamera zu erstellen. Diese Nische besetzt es allerdings sehr gut. Mich hat vor allem die herausragende Bildqualität begeistert! Verarbeitung und Anmutung entsprechen dem hohen Wert. Es hat auf jeden Fall Spaß gemacht, damit zu arbeiten.

Ich werde, wenn sich eine passende Gelegenheit bietet, auch noch ein 70-200mm ƒ/2.8 mit Bildstabilisator zum Vergleich ausprobieren und dann auf Basis der gewonnenen Erfahrungen mit beiden Objektiven eine Entscheidung treffen. Die gibt es dann auch wieder hier zum Nachlesen.

Was ich gelernt habe: Ein Objektiv mal für eine Woche auszuleihen ist die perfekte Art, es in Ruhe ausprobieren und sich einen Eindruck verschaffen zu können, ob es die eigenen Vorstellungen und Erwartungen erfüllt. Ich werde diese Möglichkeit in Zukunft mit Sicherheit noch öfter nutzen.

Und: Es macht unheimlich Spaß, mit so einem Profi-Objektiv zu fotografieren. Die Testwoche hat mir aber auch gezeigt: So schön die Bilder auch sind, die große Offenblende beim 50-100er allein ist nicht alles. Ich will vor einer Entscheidung auf jeden Fall den Vergleich haben, und von daher war die Entscheidung, das Objektiv erstmal nur zu mieten, genau richtig.


LINKS

Bildnachweis: Alle Bilder eigene Aufnahmen.

Meine Ausrüstung: Das „Immerdrauf“ – Sigma C 17-70mm f/2.8-4.0

Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

Nachdem ich mich für die neue Kamera entschieden hatte, stellte sich als nächstes die Frage nach den passenden Objektiven. Ich hatte dieses Mal ganz bewusst das Gehäuse ohne das sonst übliche Kit-Objektiv, das Canon EF-S 18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6, gekauft – ich wollte etwas mit mehr „Bums“.

ALTERNATIVEN ZUM KIT-OBJEKTIV

Als direktes Upgrade zum Kit-Objektiv gibt es von Canon selbst das Canon EF-S 17-55mm ƒ/2.8. Das lässt am kurzen Ende zwei Drittel mehr, am langen Ende sogar viermal so viel Licht rein wie das Kit-Objektiv! Aber es schlägt dafür auch direkt mit (Stand Nov. 2016) rund 750,- € zu Buche. Zum Glück gibt es ja auch noch Drittanbieter! So hatte ich nach einigem Suchen drei Gläser in der engeren Auswahl:

  1. Sigma 17-50 mm ƒ/2.8
  2. Tamron 17-50mm ƒ/2.8
  3. Sigma 17-70 mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

Die wesentlichen Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede lassen sich recht schnell zusammenfassen:

  • Nr. 1 und 2 haben beide einen Dreifach-Zoom und eine konstante Offenblende von ƒ/2.8. Beide kosten neu (Nov. 2016) um die 300,- €
  • Nr. 3 hat einen Vierfach-Zoom, dafür am langen Ende „nur“ ƒ/4.0. Neupreis (Nov. 2016) liegt bei 400,- €.

Nach Studium zahlreicher Reviews habe ich das Tamron-Objektiv als erstes von dieser Liste gestrichen, da den beiden Sigmas übereinstimmend bessere Qualität bescheinigt wurde. Dies betrifft sowohl das Objektiv selbst, als auch die erzeugten Bilder. Damit blieb noch eine Frage zu beantworten: Was ist mir wichtiger – längere Brennweite oder offenere Blende? 70mm mit ƒ/4.0 oder 50mm bei konstant ƒ/2.8?

Ich habe mich schließlich für das 17-70er entschieden. Letztlich war mir die größere Flexibilität durch die 20mm Brennweite „extra“ dann doch wichtiger.

SIGMA C 17-70mm ƒ/2,8-4,0 DC MAKRO OS HSM

Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0
Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0

Das Sigma ist sicher maßgeblich daran beteiligt, dass mir das Fotografieren so richtig Spaß macht seit ich die neue Kamera habe. Nicht nur dass es deutlich lichtstärker ist – Bildschärfe und die Farbwiedergabe haben mich durchaus begeistert, und so macht es seinem Namen als „Immerdrauf“ alle Ehre. Äußerlich kann es ebenfalls überzeugen: Materialien und Verarbeitung empfinde ich als sehr gut. Zudem wird es komplett mit Objektivdeckel und Gegenlichtblende geliefert – letztere kostet bei Canon gerne mal extra. Von Größe und Gewicht her ist es sehr handlich und liegt zusammen mit der Kamera gut in der Hand.

Was das Fotografieren selbst angeht: Der Autofokus arbeitet an meiner 760D sehr zuverlässig, genauso wie der Bildstabilisator. Damit sind auch unter ungünstigen Lichtverhältnissen noch gute Bilder aus der Hand möglich. Ein echtes Makro-Objektiv ist es zwar nicht – aber mit einem Abbildungsmaßstab von 1:2,8 sind schon beeindruckende Nahaufnahmen möglich. Und Dank der offenen Blende sind durchaus auch Aufnahmen mit einem schönen unscharfen Hintergrund (Bokeh) möglich.

GIBT ES AUCH NACHTEILE?

Ja, aus den Erfahrungen des vergangenen Jahres gibt es ein paar (wenige) Kritikpunkte. Was mir dabei am meisten auffällt: Der Zoom ist ziemlich leichtgängig. Trägt man die Kamera mit dem Objektiv nach unten, am Gürtelclip oder Schultergurt, so fährt das Objektiv beim Laufen durch das eigene Gewicht (mit Gegenlichtblende) von alleine auf 70mm aus. Das kann unangenehm sein, weil man so leichter irgendwo dagegen stößt und zudem meist erstmal wieder den Zoom zurückdrehen muss, wenn man die Kamera in die Hand nimmt.

Bei der Aufnahme von Videos ist, sofern man kein von der Kamera deutlich entferntes externes Mikro verwendet, ein leises Knacken und Schnarren von Bildstabilisator und Autofokus zu hören. Da ich allerdings nur selten Videos aufnehme, stört mich das kaum.

Bei den Fotos hingegen gibt es praktisch nichts auszusetzen – die leichte Vignettierung (dunkle Ecken) bei Aufnahmen mit offener Blende lässt sich in der Nachbearbeitung mit wenigen Klicks (in Adobe Lightroom zum Beispiel reicht schon die Auswahl des korrekten Objektprofils) beheben. Chromatische Aberrationen – grüne oder violette Farbsäume an kontrastreichen Kanten – sind vernachlässigbar.


FAZIT

Empfehlung: Wer nach einem Upgrade für das Kit-Objektiv sucht, dem kann ich das Sigma C 17-70mm ƒ/2.8-4.0 absolut empfehlen. Es ist extrem vielseitig einsetzbar, zuverlässig und liefert sehr überzeugende Ergebnisse. Insbesondere in Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass das „Original“ von Canon nahezu das Doppelte kostet, diesen Aufpreis meiner Meinung nach aber nicht wert ist.

Auch das Schwestermodell, das Sigma 17-50mm ƒ/2.8, ist eine Überlegung wert – vor allem, wenn Ihr öfter Videos filmt, wobei eine konstante Offenblende wichtiger ist. Zwei meiner Freunde haben sich dafür entschieden, an einer Canon 350D bzw. einer Nikon D7100, und sind damit ebenfalls sehr glücklich.

Was ich gelernt habe: Die gründliche Recherche im Vorfeld hat sich absolut gelohnt! Und vor allem: Wenn Ihr nach einem neuen Objektiv sucht, schaut Euch auch die Dritthersteller an – Samyang, Sigma, Tamrom, Tokina und wie sie nicht alle heißen. Sowohl von der Qualität als auch vom Preis-Leistung-Verhältnis her findet Ihr dort sehr interessante Alternativen.


LINKS:

Bildnachweis: alle Bilder eigene Aufnahmen.


BEISPIELBILDER:

Herbstfarben
Herbstfarben
Portrait einer Schnecke
Portrait einer Schnecke
Frankfurt - Skyline bei Nacht (HDR)
Frankfurt – Skyline bei Nacht (HDR)
Sonnenaufgang im Dezember
Sonnenaufgang im Dezember
Die Schmiede (HDR)
Die Schmiede (HDR)
Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.