YouTube Recommendation: Marc Levoy – Lectures on Digital Photography

Marc Levoy - Lectures on Digital Photography

When you start looking into the theory of photography, you soon realise that it is quite easy to become lost in detail. The exposure triangle alone just doesn’t do it. How does the image get to the sensor in the first place? How does the camera see colours? How do we see them? Where does image noise come from? You can either search for the answers to any of these questions individually – or you grab the comprehensive package provided by Marc Levoy.

SUMMARY

Marc Levoy is a Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Stanford and now works for Google. From 2009 to 2014, he taught a University course titled “how cameras work, and how to take good pictures using them”. In the spring of 2016, he gave an adapted version of this course at Google, which thankfully was recorded and made available online. 18 lectures, altogether more than 22 hours of video material. This is the course description given on the homepage:

An introduction to the scientific, artistic, and computing aspects of digital photography. Topics include lenses and optics, light and sensors, optical effects in nature, perspective and depth of field, sampling and noise, the camera as a computing platform, image processing and editing, and computational photography. We will also survey the history of photography, look at the work of famous photographers, and talk about composing strong photographs.

The lectures are easy to follow; the image and audio quality is very good. Even more important, he does not lose himself in gobbledegook, even when going deep into the finer details. He never loses the golden thread, and that is what makes the entire package so interesting.

The lecture’s Homepage does not only provide the links to the 18 YouTube videos, it also runs all applets used in the lectures, including instructions, as well as all of the assignments if you want to give it a try yourself!


CONCLUSION

Recommendation: This is a must-see!

What I’ve learned: A lot 🙂 In particular, it helped me understand a lot of technical background as well as explaining contexts which are easily missed when just looking into individual aspects. Of course you can use the course schedule to pick out the topics you’re most interested it, but I strongly recommend taking the time to watch the entire course over time.


LINKS

Wishing you interesting hours,
– Jochen =8-)

Title image: Screenshot from Homepage

This web site uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies

YouTube-Empfehlung: Marc Levoy – Lectures on Digital Photography

Marc Levoy - Lectures on Digital Photography

Wenn man sich mit der Theorie des Fotografierens beschäftigt, kommt man leicht vom Hundertsten ins Tausendste: man merkt schnell, dass es mit dem Belichtungsdreieck alleine nicht getan ist. Wie kommt das Bild überhaupt auf den Sensor? Wie sieht die Kamera Farben? Wie sehen wir sie? Woher kommt das Bildrauschen? Das kann man sich entweder alles einzeln zusammensuchen – oder man schnappt sich das „Rundum-Sorglos-Paket“ von Marc Levoy.

ZUSAMMENFASSUNG

Marc Levoy ist emeritierter Professor der Universität Stanford, und arbeitet jetzt bei Google. Von 2009 bis 2014 hat er an der Universität seine Vorlesung unter der Überschrift „Wie Kameras funktionieren, und wie man mit ihnen gute Bilder macht“ gehalten. In Frühjahr 2016 hat er seine Vorlesung in angepasster Form noch einmal gehalten, bei Google, wo sie dankenswerter Weise aufgezeichnet und komplett ins Netz gestellt wurde. 18 Vorlesungen, das sind über 22 Stunden Videomaterial. Hier die Übersetzung der Kursbeschreibung:

Eine Einführung in die wissenschaftlichen, künstlerischen und rechnerischen Aspekte der digitalen Fotografie. Die Themen beinhalten Objektive und Optik, Licht und Sensoren, optische Effekt in der Natur, Perspektive und Tiefenschärfe, Datenauswertung und Rauschen, die Kamera als Berechnungsplattform, Bildverarbeitung und Bearbeitung, und Fotografie mithilfe von Computern. Wir werfen außerdem einen Blick auf die Geschichte der Fotografie, schauen uns die Arbeiten berühmter Fotografen an, und sprechen über den Aufbau aussagestarker Bilder.

Wer des Englischen halbwegs mächtig ist, sollte sich diese Vorlesungsreihe auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen. Die Vorträge sind sehr angenehm; sein Englisch ist sehr gut zu verstehen und er verliert sich in „Fachchinesisch“, auch wenn er natürlich durchaus sehr tief ins Detail geht. Dabei verliert er aber nie den roten Faden, und das macht das Gesamtpaket so interessant.

Auf der Homepage zur Vorlesung gibt es nicht nur die Links zu den 18 Videos auf YouTube, sondern auch alle in der Vorlesung verwendeten Applets inklusive Anleitung, sowie die gestellten Aufgaben zum selber ausprobieren!


FAZIT

Empfehlung: Auf jeden Fall anschauen!

Was ich gelernt habe: Eine Menge 🙂 Vor allem sind mir eine Menge Hintergründe und Zusammenhänge klar geworden, die sich einem nicht erschließen wenn man sich nur punktuell mit einzelnen Themen auseinandersetzt. Man kann sich natürlich über den Stundenplan auf der Homepage auch gezielt die Themen heraussuchen, die einen besonders interessieren. Meine Empfehlung ist aber ganz klar sich die Zeit zu nehmen um sich nach und nach die gesamte Reihe anzuschauen.


LINKS

Auf interessante Stunden,
– Jochen =8-)

Titelbild: Screenshot der o.a. Homepage

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.